Baja

What is Baja SAE?

Bruin Racing’s BajaSAE team is an entirely student-led group that designs, builds, and races an offroading car on an annual basis. These single-passenger cars are pitted against rival schools in several dynamic events, including one grueling endurance race, and are presented in professional business and design reviews.

Bruin Racing Baja Team 2017-2018

Baja SAE Oregon 2018

Our Directors

Image description

Ben Sharp

Mechanical Engineering '22

Technical Director

The Technical Director evaluates the designs and plans of each subteam, setting top-level goals and integration choices in the context of total vehicle performance.

  • benjamin.sharp@bruinracing.org
Image description

Alex Hedrick

Mechanical Engineering '22

Managing Director

The Managing Director coordinates the whole Baja team, including finding sponsorships, facilitating collaboration between subteams, and keeping the team on track to meet deadlines.

  • alex.hedrick@bruinracing.org
Image description

Dominik Bahm

Mechanical Engineering '23

Chassis

The chassis subteam designs, assembles, and tests the tubular chassis as well as designing and fabricating body panels and decals for the car.

  • dominik.bahm@bruinracing.org
Image description

Junha Park

Mechanical Engineering '23

Powertrain

The powertrain subteam designs, manufactures, and tests the gearbox and the half-shaft assemblies.

  • junha.park@bruinracing.org
Image description

John Field

Mechanical/Mathematics '22

Electronics and Data Aquisition

Data Aquisition’s purpose is to design and implement sensors and other electronics both on and off the baja car for the purpose of collecting data to be used in designing future cars, as well as tuning the current car.

  • john.field@bruinracing.org
Image description

Ben Sharp

Mechanical Engineering '22

Suspension

The Suspension subteam engineers the car's interaction with the road, optimizing our suspension geometry through the lens of vehicle dynamics.

  • benjamin.sharp@bruinracing.org
Image description

Emma Gloyer

Mechanical Engineering '23
Image description

Jake Kanetis

Mechanical Engineering '23

ECVT (Electro-mechanically actuated Continuously Variable Transmission)

The ECVT team is developing a custom actuated CVT dictated by a controls scheme to autonomously shift and change its gear ratio in order to maintain our engine at its optimal, highest power-output speed.

  • emma.gloyer@bruinracing.org
  • jake.kanetis@bruinracing.org
Image description

Conway Xu

Math of Computation '24
Image description

Arnav Doshi

Electrical Engineering '24

Business

The business leads are in charge of budgeting, corporate partnerships and acquiring sponsorships, applying for funding.

  • conway.xu@bruinracing.org
  • arnav.doshi@bruinracing.org
Image description

Jacob Serber

Mechanical Engineering '22

Driver Interface

The Driver Interface subteam connects the driver to the car, through steering, braking, and ergonomic design.

  • jacob.serber@bruinracing.org

Past Vehicles